Book a flight ticket
Search 02
Follow us! Facebook RSS Twitter
Goin’ Japanesque!

日文称谓:学起来就不会惹到任何人

用英文对话时,对朋友或是连对长辈都是以没有敬称,直接叫名字的方式对话。日文的话,除非是有很亲密的关系,要不然基本上是不会用这样的方式的。事实上,如果是在初次见面时,直接用名字称呼而没有用任何称谓的话会被认为是非常失礼的。

在日本,称谓有非常多种。每一种的使用方法是以时机,情况,及互相的关系来分的。一个称谓就可以表示你是对对方有敬意的,或者是觉得对方很可爱等等。这些意思是被包含在文字内的,而且是这个语言里非常重要的一部份。如果是没有非常懂日文的人用错的话,基本上日本人应该不会太生气。但是,如果你有计划要住在日本或在日本工作的话,这些资讯一定会大大的帮助到你!这次,我们要介绍称谓以及如何使用这些称谓,请你一定要记得喔!

 

-san

さん

这是最基本的称谓,所以大家应该都有听过了。不管是男性,女性,长辈,晚辈都可以使用,跟英文的Mr.、Mrs.、Miss.、Ms.是同等的。用在姓或者名字的后面都可以,所以当你不确定时,用 “san” 是最保险的。例如,在电影“龙威小子”里面,宫城先生叫他的学生 丹尼尔-san, 就算他也不是日本人也是一样。

其实,日本人不只叫人时用 san,连动物也会在后面放 san喔。这大部分是发生在女性或小孩子的对话里,例如,大象 “zou” 会变成 “zou-san”, 或蚂蚁 “ari” 会变成 “ari-san”. 你可能会觉得有点奇怪,但连小熊维尼 (Winnie the Pooh) 也是叫 “Pooh-san”. 可见得这个称谓是真的可以用在许多不同的情况呢。

 

-kun

“Kun” 是用在年轻男生或年龄相近的男生上。另外,单位的上司叫下属的时候也可以用 “kun”, 但上司的年纪比较大的时候才可以用。最近也有很多年纪较轻的人成为主管,所以当你在职场上用 “kun” 的时候会让人感觉是比较过时的。

 

-chan

ちゃん

“Chan” 是对自己觉得 “可爱” 的人用的,所以大多是用在年轻女性上。对伴侣动物也是可以使用的。如果是跟自己很亲的人,那也是可以用在男性或大人身上。

例如,在“龙猫”里面,小女孩的外婆是叫她”Mei-chan”。另外,日本搞笑团体 “Down Town” 里面的两人是叫 “Macchan” 跟 “Hama-chan”。虽然他们已是成人,他们还是用 “chan” 来称呼。这也是大家都非常瞭解他们,也认为跟他们的关系很亲切的证据。

如果你一直一来都是叫一个人 xx-san,然后突然变成 xx-chan,那会让人觉得你们突然变得很亲近。如果男生叫女生时突然从 xx-san 换成叫 xx-chan 的话,那可能会让那位女生觉得这个男生对她是有好感的喔。

另外,如果你要用 “chan” 的话,对年长的女性要特別注意。有些人可能会觉得你不够尊敬,所以可能会生气呢。注意着跟每个人的关系,在运用适当的称谓才是日本人的做事方式喔。

 

-dono

殿

这原本是在有城主的时代才被用的称谓。至今还是会在书面上看到,但口语上是已经非常少被用到的。如果你有看时代剧的话,可能也会看到。所以,不管你是对谁,如果你用了 xx-dono,就算你认为是要尊敬对方,他们也可能会觉得你很好笑,并觉得 ”你是从哪个时代来的人啊?!”

 

-senpai

先輩

这是对长辈或地位比你大的人所使用的称谓。男女双方都可使用。可以直接叫 “senpai” 或者放在名字后面,像 “xx-senpai”。在日本,只要是年纪比你大的人都要尊敬他,因为他比你还有更多的经历。所以,从国中开始,学生就开始建立了前辈后辈 (senpai, kohai) 的关系。另外,虽然前辈的反义词是后辈,但没有人会直接叫 “kohai” 或者是 “xx-kohai”。

 

-shi

这是在正式书面,发表,或媒体等等上被使用的。

礼貌的程度上是在 “sama” 跟 “san” 的中间。所以,是较居中但也够尊敬的,所以在新闻报导上会常常听到主播叫人 “xx-shi”。

如果是在正式场合上要演讲的话,当讲到可能没有那么亲近的人,或者是没有见过但透过媒体知道的人的情况下,就可以用 “xx-shi”。

 

-sensei

先生

“Sensei” 是用在教师,医生,律师,政治家等等身上,或者是只要是有专门技术或者比一般读书更高一等的人身上。作家,漫画家,画家等等也都属于这个称谓。跟前辈 “senpai” 一样,直接用 “sensei” 或者是用在名字后面都可以。

 

-sama

这个也是男女双方都可用的称谓,而且是比 “san” 还要更有礼貌的称呼。有很多名词也有 “sama” 在里面,例如,kami-sama (神), o-sama (国王), jyo-o-sama (皇后), 也就是比一般人更高人一等的人。另外,在日本,客人是非常被尊敬的,所以客人都是被称为 “xx-sama”。如果你在餐厅或著店家有预约的话,应该就会被称为 “xx-sama” 喔。

但是,这是非常有礼貌的称谓,所以如果是较熟悉的人的话是不太会在口语上面用到的。不过,在写信或者工作上的电子邮件时,会用到这个称谓,所以记得会比较好喔。

另外,”sama” 只会在姓的后面用。这可能只是一种感觉,但如果是用在名字的后面的话,可能会有点色的感觉…有点像女王大人的感觉…哈哈

另外,也有其他的字是有用到 “sama”,但并不一定都是有尊敬的意思。例如,”ore-sama” 跟 “ki-sama”,是比较没有礼貌性的字眼,所以一定要注意。尤其是 “ki-sama”,在汉字的字面上看起来是很有尊敬的意思,但其实是完全相反且贬低人的字。在看有关于黑道的电影或者是有较暴力画面的时候,你可能会看到有人很生气的骂 “ki-sama—-!!!”。在很亲近的关系里,这个字是非常少被用到的,所以请你一定要注意。

 

称谓的关系性

honorific

这是我们介绍了一般基本的称谓,但其实还有很多很多其他的称谓。而且,要瞭解到怎么分別运用这些称谓又是一个更深奥的艺术了!为了让你一看就可以瞭解到各个关系的称谓,我们整理出了一个简单的表格。称谓的使用上就可以表示你的尊敬或者亲近的程度,而且也是日文沟通上非常重要的一部份。所以希望这篇文章可以帮到你,也请你一定要多多利用喔!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterrest
  • Google+
  • LINE
Kimi

About the author

Kimi is a Japanese living in Tokyo. She has spent half her life living overseas in New York, Los Angeles and Hong Kong. Her hobbies are traveling, eating, drinking and beautifying. She enjoys yoga and has a daily goal of running 6.5 km to offset her love of beer and junk food.

View all articles by Kimi
{"dots":"false","arrows":"true","autoplay":"true","autoplay_interval":"6000","speed":"1000","design":"prodesign-16","rtl":"false","loop":"true","slidestoshow":"3","slidestoscroll":"1","centermode":"false"}
pagetop

Book a flight ticket
Search 02
Follow us! Facebook RSS Twitter
Goin’ Japanesque!

Japanese Honorific Titles: Learn Them So You Don’t Upset Anyone

In English, friends or at times, even people that are superior are called by their first names without any honorific titles. In Japanese, this is not ordinary unless the relationship is very close. In fact, it you are meeting someone for the first time and call them without any titles, it can actually be considered a little rude.

In Japan, there are various types of honorific titles. The usage is differentiated by time, situation and the relationship between the individuals. One title can express whether you respect the person, think that person is cute, etc and it is a very important part of the language. We don’t think that any Japanese person would get angry if a person learning Japanese misuses a title. But if you are planning to live or work in Japan, this information is sure to come in handy! Here, we try to show how the titles are used so you can learn how they can be used!

 

-san

さん

This is the most standard honorific title so we’re sure you have all heard of it. It can be used for male, female, elder or younger. It is equivalent to the English Mr., Mrs., Miss or Ms. It can be used after the first name or the last name so better to use “san” when in doubt. For example, in the movie Karate Kid, Mr, Miyagi calls the student, Daniel-san, even though he is not Japanese.

The Japanese sometimes use san not only for humans but for animals too. It is often done so by women or children, but an elephant (zou) becomes zou-san and an ant (ari) becomes ari-san. And this may come off as strange, but even Winnie the Pooh is called Pooh-san. This just shows that it is used in a multitude of situations.

 

-kun

Kun is used for young boys or between males of around the same age. Additionally, when a superior calls his subordinate at work, they may use kun. However, it is only done so when the superior is older. Recently, it’s not rare that someone younger is superior so when you use kun in the workplace, it may sound a little outdated.

 

-chan

ちゃん

Chan is used for someone that you think is just “adorable”, so it is mainly used toward younger girls. It can also be used for pets. If the relationship is close, it can be used for males or adults as well.

For example in “My Neighbor Totoro”, the girl is called “Mei-chan” by the grandmother. But on the other hand, the Japanese comedy duo, Down Town are called Macchan and Hama-chan, with the “chan” even though they are grown adults. This just means that everyone knows them as familiar figures.

If you were calling someone xx-san and then, you start calling them xx-chan, it feels like the two of you suddenly got very intimate. If a guy calls a girl “xx-san” but suddenly starts calling them “xx-chan”, the girl may get a little excited thinking the guy has feelings for her.

Also you should be cautious when using “chan” for someone older even if they are female. You may upset them by letting them think that you don’t have enough respect for them. To sense the subtle nuances of the relationship and using the appropriate title is the Japanese-style.

 

-dono

殿

This is an honorific title that was originally used back in the day when there were feudal lords(tono-sama). We still see this in writing, but it is not used very often in verbal communication. You may hear it if you are watching a historical drama. So, if you use the title “xx-dono” for someone, even if you mean respect, they may think it’s funny like “Hey, what era did you time-travel from?!”.

 

-senpai

先輩

This is an honorific title that is used for someone older or superior. It can be used for both males and females. You can simply call someone “senpai” or use it after their name like “xx-senpai”. In Japan, someone who is older is respected as they have more experience in life. So starting around junior high school, you start to become cognizant of the “senpai” and “kohai” relationship. FYI, the antonym for sempai is kohai, but you wouldn’t call someone “kohai” or “xx-kohai”.

 

-shi

This is used in official documents, official announcements or in the media.

In terms of politeness, it is between sama and san, i.e. neutral yet respectful, so you will often hear a news reporter referring to someone as xx-shi.

You would use it also if you were giving a formal speech and want to refer to someone who you’re not familiar with or someone who you have not met but know through media publications.

 

-sensei

先生

Sensei is used for a school teacher, doctor, lawyer, politician, etc and any other person who has expertise in a special skill or profession beyond the standard studies. Any writer, manga-artist, artist falls into this category as well. Similar to “senpai” this can be used alone as “sensei” or be used after the name.

 

-sama

This is a title that can be used for both males and females. It is more respectful than “san”. For example, words that have sama are kami-sama (god), o-sama (king), jyo-o-sama (queen), so people that are far superior than yourself. And in Japan, a customer is honored so customers/guests are called xx-sama. If you make a reservation at a restaurant or a store, they may call you xx-sama.

One thing to note however is that this is used in a very polite setting so it is not used in verbal communication among people who are familiar. It would be helpful to remember for example, if you are addressing a letter or writing an email to a business partner.

FYI, the sama is used after the surname. This is just a nuance- thing, but when it is used after the first name…it may sound a little erotic… like an S & M queen or something… lol

Also, there are some exceptional words where the title sama is used, but it doesn’t necessarily convey respect. For example, beware of the works ore-sama and kisama because it’s hardly considered polite. Particularly the kisama, in kanji characters it appears as if they are very respectful words, but it is actually a derogatory word. You may see this being used in a yakuza movie or in a violent scene where someone is angrily shouting “kisama—-!!!”. This word is seldom used amongst people with friendly relationships so just be careful.

 

The Honorific Titles Chart

honorific

Here we introduced the most standard honorific titles, but there are many more beyond the ones we introduced in this article. And trying to differentiate the subtle nuances is such a deep art! To make it easy to visualize the relationship, we’ve mapped it out on a very simple chart. The use of titles can express respect or express closeness and it is a very important part of the Japanese communication. We hope this helps because learning its usage can be so helpful!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterrest
  • Google+
  • Google+
  • flipboard
Kimi

About the author

Kimi is a Japanese living in Tokyo. She has spent half her life living overseas in New York, Los Angeles and Hong Kong. Her hobbies are traveling, eating, drinking and beautifying. She enjoys yoga and has a daily goal of running 6.5 km to offset her love of beer and junk food.

View all articles by Kimi
{"dots":"false","arrows":"true","autoplay":"true","autoplay_interval":"6000","speed":"1000","design":"prodesign-16","rtl":"false","loop":"true","slidestoshow":"3","slidestoscroll":"1","centermode":"false"}
pagetop