Book a flight ticket
Search 02
Follow us! Facebook RSS Twitter
Goin’ Japanesque!

鲤鱼旗!日本5月的文化传统就是这个!

在空中游泳的鲤鱼?

从4月后半段开始,一直到5月的前半段,日本各地都可以看得到鲤鱼在空中游泳的样子。当然,这不是真的鲤鱼,而是鲤鱼样貌的旗子。第一次看见这样景色的人可能会被这个奇特的光景吓到。虽然与以前比起来,现在在外面已经较少看得到了,但这是日本每当到了这个时期就会有的传统文化风景喔。但是,为什么是在这个时期呢?为什么要吊上鲤鱼旗呢?图片: https://www.flickr.com

 

可看到鲤鱼旗的时期: 端午节

koinobori-ChildrensDay
https://www.flickr.com

鲤鱼旗是在5月5号叫做「儿童节」的节日时掛上的。就有如节日的名字,这天是为了孩童庆祝的节日。而在这天,为了庆祝男孩子的成长,也会举行「端午节」(端午の节句 = Tango no Sekku) 的庆祝仪式。

「端午の节句」是从中国的「节句」概念为由来,是有著驱除邪恶的意思。而这个概念在奈良时代 (公元710-794年) 被传到日本,并在镰仓时代 (1185-1333) 变成了男孩子的节句。在以前的传统,过节时会将菖蒲或魁蒿穿戴在身上或放在门口,这是因为传说中,这些植物较强的味道可以避邪或驱魔。菖蒲 (shobu) 也因为发音与跟武术有关的「尚武 (shobu)」与「胜负 (shobu)」相像的关系成为了英勇的象征,而端午节也变成了期许男孩子可成长为强壮的武士的节日。

3月3号女儿节: 雏祭 (女儿节) 1: 历史及雏人偶的摆饰方法

 

鲤鱼旗的由来

koinobori2
https://www.flickr.com

在江户时代 (1603-1868) 时,家里有7岁以下男孩的武士家族,为了期许男孩可以「成长为强壮的武士」,家里在端午节时会摆出盔甲、头盔以及旗子。而这个传统也渐渐地被较富裕的城市居民模仿。但是,在当时,吊挂旗子这件事是不被允许的,所以人们便运用纸或布,画成鲤鱼,做成了鲤鱼旗。这就是鲤鱼旗的由来。

 

为什么是鲤鱼呢?

koi-fish
https://www.flickr.com

这是从中国的「登龙门」的故事为由来的。中国黄河的中流部份有一个名为「龙门」的急流瀑布。而传说中,如果有鲤鱼可以在这个地方在逆流中成功的向上游的话,这条鲤鱼就会变成龙。在中国,龙是皇帝的象征,所以要挑战变成地位较高的人,这样的难关就被说成是「登龙门」。从这个故事为由来,鲤鱼也就变成了吉利的代表之一。而在日本,将鲤鱼旗高高的掛起,也就代表了期许孩子的成功。

 

鲤鱼旗的过去与现在

koinobori-eclairs
https://www.flickr.com

现在我们常看到的鲤鱼旗有许多不同的颜色,像是黑色、红色、蓝色、绿色等等。尺寸也有大有小,种类是非常的丰富。如果有许多只鲤鱼放在一起的话,就是代表了一个家族。最大只的黑鲤鱼被称为「真鲤」(Magoi),是父亲的象征。第二大的红色鲤鱼是象征母亲的「绯鲤」(Higoi)。最后,更小的小鲤鱼是象征孩童的「子鲤」(Kogoi)。

另外,每一个跟著鲤鱼旗一起摆饰的物品都有不同的意思。放在最上方的「笼玉」(Kagodama) 据说是有神明居住在里面。而在下方的「矢车」(Yaguruma)则是护身符。最后,与鲤鱼旗一起在天空的5个不同颜色的布则是叫做「风幡」(吹き流し = Fukinagashi),据说这也是驱邪的摆饰喔。

其实,江户时代时的鲤鱼旗与现代的鲤鱼旗是长得不同的。如浮世画画家,歌川广重所绘画的一样,以前的鲤鱼旗是只有一只黑色的「真鲤」而已。但到了明治时代,大家便开始放上绯鲤,而现在再加上了子鲤,就成为了现在较常看到的代表一个家族的组合。 

以前,鲤鱼旗是完全手工制作的。但在1960年代,化学纤维变得较普及,鲤鱼旗的设计也就可被运用印刷的方式大量生产,并让更多人可以简单取得,也让这个传统的行为变得更加广泛。现在,除了与以往的鲤鱼旗较相像的户外式的鲤鱼旗之外,也有印刷在手巾或毛巾上,或者是较小型室内用的鲤鱼旗,以及许多不同样式的版本喔。也因为这样,从以前到现在,鲤鱼旗一直贴近着日本人的生活并也一直存在。

 

可看见鲤鱼旗的活动

在日本,全国各地都有举办与鲤鱼旗相关的活动。以下只是小小的一部份,但如果你刚好有在附近的话,你可以抓住机会去参加看看喔。

1. 鲤鱼在清澈的河流里的绝美景色

koinobori3
高知县高冈郡四万十町十户地区「鲤鱼旗渡河」
来源: Japan Congress Convention Bureau (Public Interest Incorporated Foundation)

鲤鱼旗是吊在河川的对岸,所以在「鲤鱼旗渡河」时,鲤鱼才是在河川的上方游。现在在许多地方都可以看到这样的活动,但在发祥地的高知县十和地区,这是每年4月到5月会举办的传统活动。超过500个鲤鱼旗,在日本三大清流之一的四万十川上飘来飘去,这绝对是值得一见的景色。

时期: 2016年4月18号星期一 到 2016年5月21号星期六
地点: 地图

2. 一生一定要看一次!世界第一大的超大鲤鱼旗

koinobori4
埼玉县加须市「市民平和祭」 (C)加須市役所商業観光課

在日本鲤鱼旗生产量第一的加须市,每年5月都会举办「市民平和祭」。沿着利根河川旁有著全长100公尺,重量约350公斤的巨大鲤鱼旗喔。

时期: 2016年5月3号 (国定假日: 宪法纪念日) 10:00 to 15:00
地点: 地图

3. 金氏世界纪录认证的惊人鲤鱼旗数量

koinobori5
群马县馆林市「鲤鱼旗之里祭」 (C)舘林観光協会

5000只以上的鲤鱼旗在天空中飞扬,这个活动在2005年被金氏世界记录认定为市世界第一的。如果有机会实际到访的话,你应该一定会觉得这个场面很惊人吧!

时期: 2016年3月8号星期二 到 2016年5月8号星期日

 

透过鲤鱼旗去思考这些活动的意义

koinobori6
宫城县东松岛市「蓝色鲤鱼旗计画」 (C)提供:青い鯉のぼりプロジェクト

除了上述活动以外,还有另一个我们希望大家可以知道的鲤鱼旗活动。这就是在宫城县从2011年开始并持续举办到现在的「蓝色鲤鱼旗计画」。

在2011年3月发生的东日本大地震是日本以及全世界都无法忘记的。这是1000年才会发生一次的超级大地震,发生在东北地方并夺走了许多人的生命。这个计画是由一位在这个地震里丧失家里5岁弟弟的高中生发起的。为了替「东日本大地震丧失生命的孩童们」祈福,他吊起了弟弟最喜欢的蓝色鲤鱼旗。而这个计画慢慢的传开来,到现在,从日本全国都有人为了支持这个计画而捐赠蓝色鲤鱼旗。目前在东北的天空上已经有超过500个鲤鱼旗被吊挂着。

时期: 2016年3月11号星期五 到 5月5号星期四
地点: 地图

 

在我们身边常见的传统或文化通常都有含有祈福或许愿的意义。这些传统一直以来被传递下来,并持续一定有它的原因。而在我们延续传统的同时,去思考这些传统或仪式发祥时的意义及持续下去的意义绝对不会是浪费时间的。

这次阅读这篇文章的大家,在你们见到在天上飞扬的鲤鱼旗时,希望你们也可以想到以上的问题喔。

相关文章: Top 4 Japanese Koinobori Festivals Selected by Japanese

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterrest
  • Google+
  • LINE
KAWATA

About the author

I'm interested in general in all things related to culture and fine arts with a focus on movies, art, and design. I hope to introduce to many people all the different sides to Japan in regards to Japanese culture.

View all articles by KAWATA
{"dots":"false","arrows":"true","autoplay":"true","autoplay_interval":"6000","speed":"1000","design":"prodesign-16","rtl":"false","loop":"true","slidestoshow":"3","slidestoscroll":"1","centermode":"false"}
pagetop

Book a flight ticket
Search 02
Follow us! Facebook RSS Twitter
Goin’ Japanesque!

Koinobori, The Japanese Seasonal Tradition Held in May!

Koi Fish Swimming in the Sky?

In late April to early May, in various parts of Japan, you will see the sight of koi fish (carp) swimming in the sky. Of course these are not live fish but streamers made to look like koi. Those of you who have seen this may have wondered about this unique sight. Compared to the old days, we see less of this outdoors but this is the sight of a seasonal tradition that is unique to this time of year. So why is it that Japanese use koi shaped streamers? Why is it practiced at this time of year? Title photo: https://www.flickr.com

 

The Time for Koi Banners: The Seasonal Festival of Tango

koinobori-ChildrensDay
https://www.flickr.com

The day that the koi-nobori or koi shaped streamers are put up is May 5th, during a celebration called the “Children’s Day”. As the name implies, the “Children’s Day” is a festival for children. On this day, an event called the “Tango no Sekku (Seasonal Festival of Tango)” is held to celebrate the growth of boys. 

The “Tango no Sekku” originates from the Chinese concept of “Sekku”, an event to ward off evil. The concept reached Japan in the Nara Period (710 -794AD) and it became recognized as a sekku for boys during the Kamakura Period (1185–1333). Traditionally, during sekku, people would wear iris or wormwood leaves or place them in the entrance of their homes as it was believed that the strong aroma of these plants had a power to ward off evil spirits. The iris later became a symbol of valiance as the iris “shobu” sounds like “尚武 (pronounced shobu)” meaning martial spirit and “勝負” (also pronounced shobu) meaning competition and the “tango no sekku” became a festival to wish for boys to grow into strong samurai. 

March 3rd Girl’s day: Hinamatsuri (Doll Festival) Part 1: History and How to Display the Hina Dolls

 

The Origin of Koi-Nobori: Koi Shaped Streamers

koinobori2
https://www.flickr.com

In the Edo Period (1603-1868) samurai households with boys 7 years or younger would display armors, helmets and banners during the period of tango no sekku with the hopes that the boy will grow into a strong warriors. Eventually, this tradition was imitated by wealthy townspeople. However, at the time, displaying streamers was not permitted and so instead, they used the “koi-nobori” made of koi drawn on washi-paper or cloth. This is how the koi-nobori was born. 

 

Why Koi Fish?

koi-fish
https://www.flickr.com

It originates from the classical story of “Toryumon” from China. In the middle of China’s Yellow River, there is a rapid waterfall called the “Ryumon”. It was said that the koi that could swim upstream against this area would become a dragon. In China, the dragon was a symbol of the emperor so a difficult challenge to become someone of high status became known as a “Toryumon”. From this story, the koi became regarded as auspicious; and in Japan, the “koi-nobori” depicting an image of the koi fish was put up to wish for the success of their children. 

 

Koi-Nobori Now and Then

koinobori-eclairs
https://www.flickr.com

Nowadays, the koi-nobori we see are in different colors of black, red, blue, green; they come in a variety of sizes from large to small as well. The numerous koi together is said to symbolize a family. The largest black koi called the “magoi” is symbolic of the father; the slightly smaller red koi called the “higoi” is symbolic of the mother; the smaller children koi are called “kogoi”. 

Additionally, the decorations that accompany the koi-nobori each have different meanings. It is said that god dwells in the “kagodama” that is placed on the very top. Below that is a talisman called the “yaguruma”. The cloths of 5 colors that sway in the wind along with the koi are called “fukinagashi”; it is said to remove any evil. 

In fact during the Edo Period, the koi-nobori did not look like how it does nowadays. As depicted in the work of Utagawa Hiroshige, the ukiyo-e artist, in the past, it was just one black “magoi”. However, in the Meiji Period, people starting placing the higoi along with the magoi. Later on, the kogoi were added until it took on the form it does now; a set that represents a family.  

In the past, the koi-nobori was made only by hand. In the 1960s, synthetic fibers being more abundant allowed for mass production of koi-nobori with the designs printed on them. This allowed for the tradition to spread to a wider group of people. Nowadays, in addition to the koi-nobori that is displayed outdoors similar to the old days, there are types of koi-nobori that are printed on tenugui washcloths or smaller koi-nobori that can be used indoors for interior decoration; so there are various types of koi-nobori. And so, the koi-nobori continues to be an intimate part of the Japanese people’s lives from the past to present. 

 

Events to See the Koi-Nobori

Throughout Japan there are events that are associated with the koi-nobori. The below is only a small portion of such events but if you happen to be in the area when it is being held, why not stop by?

1. The Amazing Sight of Koi Swimming Gracefully Above the Clear Stream

koinobori3
“Koi-Nobori no Kawawatashi (The River Crossing of Koi-Nobori)” of Toonohe Region, Shimanto, Takaoka District, Kochi Prefecture
Source: Japan Congress Convention Bureau (Public Interest Incorporated Foundation)

Koi-nobori are hung on the opposing shores of the river so that in the “koi-nobori no kawa watashi”, the koi swim above the river. Today, this can be seen in various parts of the country, but in the Towa region of Kochi Prefecture, where this was born, it is a seasonal tradition that is practiced around April to May each year. Over 500 koi-nobori, gracefully swimming about the Shimanto River, which is one of Japan’s 3 Top Clear Streams, is quite a sight. 

Duration: Monday April 18th 2016 to Saturday May 21st
Place: Map

2. A Sight to See! The World’s Largest Jumbo Koi-Nobori

koinobori4
“Public Peace Festival” Kazo, Saitama Prefecture (C)加須市役所商業観光課

Kazo, a city that is the number one producer of koi-nobori in Japan holds the “Public Peace Festival” each year in May. During this festival, a huge koi-nobori of 100 meters in length and 350 kilograms in weight swims along the Tonegawa River. 

Duration: May 3rd 2016 (Public Holiday: Constitution Day) 10:00 to 15:00
Place: Map

3. The Amazing Number of Koi-Nobori Also Recognized as a Guinness World Record

koinobori5
“Koi-Nobori no Sato Matsuri” in Tatebayashi of Gunma Prefecture (C)舘林観光協会

Over 5,000 koi-nobori are raised and it is a record holder in the 2005 Guinness Book of World Records for the number of koi-nobori. It would be great to actually visit and be amazed by the sheer number.

Duration: Friday March 8th 2016 to Sunday May 8th

 

Pondering the Meanings of These Events through the Koi-Nobori

koinobori6
“Aoi (Blue) Koi-Nobori Project” of Higashi-matsushima, Miyagi Prefecture (C)提供:青い鯉のぼりプロジェクト

In addition to the above, there is one other event related to the koi-nobori that we would like you to know about. It is the “Aoi Koi-Nobori Project” that has been held in Miyagi Prefecture since 2011.

No one can forget the Great East Japan Earthquake that occurred on March 2011. A once-in-a-millennium crisis hit the Tohoku region and many people lost their lives as a result. This project was started by a high-school aged boy who lost his 5 year old brother in the earthquake. He raised his brother’s favorite blue koi-nobori in hopes of doing something for the “young children who lost their lives in the Great East Japan Earthquake”. The project was passed on from person to person and now blue koi-nobori from all over Japan are donated for this cause. Now, there are over 500 koi-nobori that swim in the skies of the Tohoku area. 

Duration: Friday March 11th 2016 to Thursday May 5th
Place: Map

 

Traditional events and practices that are held around us often have wishes or hopes dedicated to them. There has to be some worth in stopping to think about why the traditions are practiced, whey they continue to be practiced, the reason why they developed and why they are passed on. 

We would be happy if those of you who read this article give thought to such questions when you see the koi-nobori energetically swimming in the skies.

Related: Top 4 Japanese Koinobori Festivals

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterrest
  • Google+
  • Google+
  • flipboard
KAWATA

About the author

I'm interested in general in all things related to culture and fine arts with a focus on movies, art, and design. I hope to introduce to many people all the different sides to Japan in regards to Japanese culture.

View all articles by KAWATA
{"dots":"false","arrows":"true","autoplay":"true","autoplay_interval":"6000","speed":"1000","design":"prodesign-16","rtl":"false","loop":"true","slidestoshow":"3","slidestoscroll":"1","centermode":"false"}
pagetop